2018 Chamber-Endorsed Candidates

Chamber-Endorsed Candidates

Continuing its tradition of supporting pro-economic development candidates and policies that are critical to the Chamber’s public policy priorities, the Detroit Regional Chamber Political Action Committee (PAC) endorsed the following candidates for several key races at the federal and state levels.

Learn more about the Detroit Regional Chamber PAC and the endorsement process.

2018 Election Endorsements

Gretchen Whitmer

“Gretchen Whitmer emerged as the Chamber PAC’s choice as the candidate best suited to carry forward the positive trajectory established in the last eight years and better reflects the Chamber’s key policy priorities,” said Brad Williams, vice president of Government Relations for the Detroit Regional Chamber.

“While it is rare for an elected official to be fully aligned with the Chamber’s pro-growth and pro-smart investment policies, Whitmer’s strong support for regional transit, funding for critical infrastructure, and her past support for the Detroit Grand Bargain, Healthy Michigan, and the Gordie Howe International Bridge make her the candidate that best aligns with the Chamber’s agenda. The Chamber looks forward to working with the next governor to continue Michigan’s reputation as the “comeback state” and improving our critical infrastructure and education performance.”

House Speaker Tom Leonard (R-DeWitt)

“As a prosecutor and a legislator, Speaker Leonard has consistently exercised the judgement needed to hold wrongdoers accountable, create an environment hospitable to growth, and represent the people’s interest,” said Williams.

Justice Elizabeth Clement

Justice Kurtis Wilder

“It is important that we have Supreme Court justices like Elizabeth Clement and Kurtis Wilder who understand that the rule of law must prevail in our legal system and provide stability and common-sense justice that allows our economy to thrive,” said Williams.

No Consensus

The PAC Board requires a two-thirds vote to make an endorsement, and unfortunately the Chamber PAC Board was unable to reach a consensus for the Michigan Secretary of State. It is expected with a two-thirds rule that there will be times that a no-vote will happen. We strive to comprise our PAC Board of bipartisan, regional, business leaders from across our Southeast Michigan membership and are proud of the diversity of opinion it represents.

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

“Sen. Stabenow has been a tremendous champion for Michigan in Congress. Sen. Stabenow’s strong support of key business priorities such as the Gordie Howe International Bridge, small business growth, and as a champion for Michigan’s agriculture industry are reasons for the Chamber’s endorsement. Her leadership and willingness to work across the aisle in Washington has helped move Michigan in a positive direction,” said Williams.

District 1: Rep. Jack Bergman (R-Watersmeet)
District 2:
Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-Zeeland)
District 4:
Rep. John Moolenaar (R-Midland)
District 5:
Rep. Dan Kildee (D-Flint Township)
District 6:
Rep. Fred Upton (R-St. Joseph)
District 7: Rep. Tim Walberg (R-Tipton)
District 8: Rep. Mike Bishop (R-Rochester Hills)
District 9: Andy Levin (D-Bloomfield Township)
District 10: Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-Dryden Township)
District 12: Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-Dearborn)
District 14: Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-Southfield)

District 1:
Stephanie Chang (D)
District 2: Adam Hollier (D)
District 3: Sylvia Santana (D)
District 4: Marshall Bullock (D)
District 7: Laura Cox (R)
District 8: Peter Lucido (R)
District 10: Henry Yanez (D)
District 11: Jeremy Moss (D)
District 12: Mike McCready (R)
District 13: Marty Knollenberg (R)
District 14: Ruth Johnson (R)
District 16: Mike Shirkey (R)
District 17: Dale Zorn (R)
District 23: Curtis Hertel (D)
District 24: Kelly Rossman-McKinney (D)
District 27: Jim Ananich (D)
District 28: Peter MacGregor (R)
District 29: Chris Afendoulis (R)
District 31: Kevin Daley (R)
District 32: Ken Horn (R)
District 33: Rick Outman (R)
District 35: Curt VanderWall (R)
District 36: Jim Stamas (R)
District 37: Wayne Schmidt (R)

District 1:
Tenisha Yancey (D)
District 2: Joseph Tate (D)
District 3: Wendell Byrd (D)
District 8: Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (D)
District 10: Leslie Love (D)
District 11: Jewell Jones (D)
District 12: Alex Garza (D)
District 13: Frank Liberati (D)
District 15: Abdullah Hammoud (D)
District 17: Joe Bellino (R)
District 18: Kevin Hertel (D)
District 22: John Chirkun (D)
District 23: Darrin Camilleri (D)
District 26: Jim Ellison (D)
District 27: Robert Wittenberg (D)
District 30: Diana Farrington (R)
District 31: William Sowerby (D)
District 37: Christine Greig (D)
District 38: Kathy Crawford (R)
District 41: Doug Teitz (R)
District 43: Andrea Schroeder (R)
District 45: Michael Webber (R)
District 47: Hank Vaupel (R)
District 50: Tim Sneller (D)
District 52: Donna Lasinski (D)
District 55: Rebekah Warren (D)
District 56: Jason Sheppard (R)
District 60: Jon Hoadley (D)
District 61: Brandt Iden (R)
District 66: Beth Griffin (R)
District 68: Sarah Anthony (D)
District 73: Lynn Afendoulis (R)
District 74: Mark Huizenga (R)
District 80: Mary Whiteford (R)
District 85: Ben Frederick (R)
District 87: Julie Calley (R)
District 89: Jim Lilly (R)
District 91: Greg VanWoerkom (R)
District 93: Graham Filler (R)
District 100: Scott VanSingel (R)
District 104: Larry Inman (R)
District 107: Lee Chatfield (R)

Executive Mark Hackel

Executive Warren Evans

Elite Members