Print Friendly and PDF

Walsh Appoints William Bateman as New Management Chair

TROY, Mich., March 3, 2020 — Walsh has appointed professor William Bateman, DBA, as the new chair of the management department. Bateman was previously a member of the graduate school faculty at Northwood University and is past president of Northwood’s Michigan campus in Midland, MI. Bateman’s experience also includes a 25-year career as a commercial banker and vice president with Comerica Bank and Sun Trust Bank in Michigan, Florida and Virginia. Most recently he was Vice President and Chief Credit Officer at Capital Automotive near Washington, D.C.

“Dr. Bateman’s combination of academic and real-word experience align with Walsh’s longstanding practice to blend theory and practical application for a well-rounded business education. As Walsh approaches its 100th anniversary, he is well-positioned to lead the management department into our next century,” said Michael Rinkus, DBA, Vice President and Chief Academic Officer.

Bateman holds a Doctor of Business Administration from Nova Southeastern University, a Master of Science in Management from Walsh and a Bachelor of Business Administration from Western Michigan University. In addition to leading the management department, Bateman will maintain his role as professor teaching in areas of leadership, strategy and finance.

For more information, visit

# # #

Walsh is an all-business, private, independent, not-for-profit, fully accredited college offering undergraduate, graduate and doctoral business and technology degrees, as well as certificate programs. Founded in 1922, Walsh is one of Southeast Michigan’s largest graduate business schools, offering classes in several locations and online. Our nationally-ranked programs integrate theory and application to prepare graduates for successful careers. Walsh degree programs include accounting, finance, information technology, human resources, management, marketing, taxation and other fields. For more information, please visit

Walsh is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission ( and the Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (